Of Montreal – Bassem Sabry | New Music


Of Montreal have announced a new release: their thirteenth album following up last year’s Lousy With Sylvianbriar. Aureate Gloom has been shaped emotionally after frontman Kevin Barnes breakup with his wife, as he commented in a press release: “I was going through a very stormy period in my life and felt like I was just completely trashed. I might be guilty of sharing or exposing too much of my private life, but to me the best albums are those that help people connect with an artist on a deep, human level and that do so without too much artifice or evasiveness“.


The opening track, “Bassem Sabry“, has been named after the Egyptian journalist who died earlier this year, and is now available to stream. Aureate Gloom will be out on March 3 via Polyvinyl Records, and you can pre-order it now here. Listen to the LP’s first single “Bassem Sabry” below, followed by the album’s tracklist.



Aureate Gloom tracklist:


01. Bassem Sabry
02. Last Rites At The Jane Hotel
03. Empyrean Abbatoir
04. Aluminum Crown
05. Virgillian Lots
06. Monolithic Egress
07. Apollyon Of Blue Room
08. Estocadas
09. Chthonian Dirge For Uruk The Other
10. Like Ashoka’s Inferno of Memory



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You May Also Like