Olamide, Phyno & Davido Clean Up At The Headies Music Awards 2013 | Music News


Indigenous rappers Olamide and Phyno were the big winners at this years Headies Music Awards in Nigeria which took place yesterday (Boxing Day), to no real surprise whatsoever. Olamide took home four awards in total including ‘Best Album of the Year’ and ‘Best Rap Album of the Year’ for his sophomore album YBNL while Phyno won the ‘Best Rap Single’ award for “Man of the Year” and the ‘Best Collaboration’ award for “Ghost Mode” alongside Olamide.


Pop star Davido also bagged two awards at the Headies after being crowned ‘Hip-Hop World Revelation’ and winning ‘Best R&B/Pop Album’ for his debut offering O.B.O: The Genesis. Sean Tizzle was crowned ‘Next Rated’ and walked away with a Hyundai Tuscon SUV for his efforts while his producer and label mate D’Tunes won the ‘Producer of the Year’ award. Iyanya was crowned ‘Artiste of the Year’ while KCee’s “Limpopo” won ‘Song of the Year’ and Nigerian music legend KWAM 1 was inducted into the Headies Hall of Fame.


The surprise winner on the night was Kennis Music signee Jaywon whose single “This Year (Odun Yi)” won the ‘Recording of the Year’ award, beating out the likes of Waje, Sound Sultan and Brymo in doing so. Another surprise but well-deserved winner was Nikki Laoye who won the ‘Best (Female) Vocal Performance’ award for her “Only You” single, ahead of Waje’s “I Wish” and Niyola’s “Toh Bad”.


A full list of winners can be found here.



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You May Also Like