Rees-Mogg Submits No Confidence Letter While Cabinet Ministers Quit Over Brexit Plan | Politics


Brexit Secretary Dominic Raab has resigned from the cabinet. He has told BBC News his reasons were the “fatal flaws” in the UK’s draft Brexit agreement with the EU. “The UK should be ready to risk a no-deal Brexit in the face of EU ‘blackmail’”.


Moreover, work and pensions Secretary Esther McVey and junior Brexit minister Suella Braverman have also resigned.


Furthermore, Theresa May is currently dealing with a “fracturing government”. Brexiteer Jacob Rees-Mogg has submitted a letter of no confidence in the Prime Minister to Sir Graham Brady, chairman of the Tories’ backbench 1922 Committee.


Rees-Mogg has told reporters: “The negotiations had given way on all the key points. The deal risks Brexit because it is not a proper Brexit.”


Foreign Office minister Sir Alan Duncan has stated that Rees-Mogg’s comments were “deeply destructive” and added: “If this government is undermined further, we could destroy the government, we could significantly damage and even destroy the Conservative Party, all of which would be happening in the middle of an unconcluded set of Brexit negotiations.”


A voting will take place if 48 Tory MPs write letters to Sir Graham. Until now, these number of letters have not yet been received.


When May was asked by Labour Mike Gapes if it was time she “stood aside for someone else who could take this country forward in a united way”, she replied: “No”.


Chief whip Julian Smith has said: “The prime minister will not be bullied into changing course”.


May continues to defend Brexit plan.



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

You May Also Like