‘The Square’ Wins Palme D’Or At Cannes 2017 | Film News


The Competition prizes for the 70th edition of the Cannes Film Festival have been awarded last night (28 May) in the Lumiere Theatre, with The Square by Ruben Östlund winning the Palme d’Or.


The film is the follow-up to the Swedish director’s initial success with Force Majeure, and stars Claes Bang as a museum director whose life goes downhill after an ill-judged PR stunt to promote a piece of performance art called The Square.


After winning the award, Ruben Östlund led the entire audience in unleashing a primal scream.


Pedro Almodóvar presided over this year’s jury that also included Will Smith, Maren Ade, Park Chan-wook, Paolo Sorrentino, Jessica Chastain, Fan Bingbing, Agnès Jaoui and Gabriel Yared.




Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

You May Also Like