Trickfinger (John Frusciante) – After Below | New Music


John Frusciante will release his thirteenth solo album on April 7 under the alias of Trickfinger via AcidTest. The former Red Hot Chili Peppers guitarist said of the album; “I started being serious about following my dream to make electronic music, and to be my own engineer, five years ago. For the 10 years prior to that, I had been playing guitar along with a wide range of different types of programmed synthesizer and sample-based music, emulating what I heard as best as I could. I found that the languages machines forced programmers to think in had caused them to discover a new musical vocabulary“.


He continued saying, “In 2007, I started to learn how to program all the instruments we associate with acid house music and some other hardware. For about seven months I didn’t record anything. Then I started recording, playing 10 or so synced machines through a small mixer into a CD burner. This was all experimental acid house, my skills at making rock music playing no part in it whatsoever. I had lost interest in traditional songwriting and I was excited about finding new methods for creating music. I’d surround myself with machines, program one and then another and enjoy what was a fascinating process from beginning to end“. The album tracklist is also revealed and the first song of the album titled “After Below” is ready to stream below.



Trickfinger album tracklist:

1. “After Below”
2. “Before Above”
3. “Rainover”
4. “Sain”
5. “Exlam”
6. “85h”
7. “4:30”
8. “Phurip”



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You May Also Like