Unreleased Prince Album ‘Welcome 2 America’ Finally Arrives This Summer | Music News

The remastered album mines Prince’s creative era between Nov. 1981 and Jan. 1983.


Prince’s unreleased 2010 album entitled Welcome 2 America is finally being released this summer!


The LP was recorded back in 2010 and was supposed to be released the following year accompanied by the singer’s eponymous US tour. The tour still went ahead, while the album was left unrevealed for many years.


After a decade of being behind the scenes, Welcome 2 America is finally confirmed to be released on July 30 with the help of Legacy Recordings. The long-anticipated album will touch on such topics as race relations, social justice, political division.


The news has been shared in the official Twitter page of the late legend:



The deluxe version of the boxset of the upcoming album is set to feature a 12-track vinyl and CD as well as previously unreleased concert film from Prince’s 2011 show at The Forum in Inglewood, California.


Thus, the tracklist of Welcome 2 America will include:

1. Welcome 2 America
2. Running Game (Son of a Slave Master)
3. Born 2 Die
4. 1000 Light Years From Here
5. Hot Summer
6. Stand Up and B Strong (Soul Asylum cover)
7. Check The Record
8. Same Page, Different Book
9. When She Comes
10. 1010 (Rin Tin Tin)
11. Yes
12. One Day We Will All B Free


The preview of the studio album is set on this weekend April 11 as a part of CBS 60 Minutes show and will look back at its creation process.


The title lead track “Welcome 2 America“, which was first performed live during a show at Madison Square Garden back in December 2010, is officially out and you can listen to it down below while waiting for the upcoming album!




Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

You May Also Like