Yo La Tengo To Reissue ‘Painful’ To Celebrate 30th Anniversary | Music News


Here’s a great Christmas present: the reissue of Yo La Tengo’s 1993 LP Painful. On the occasion of the band’s 30th anniversary – which also is the 21st anniversary of Painful, Yo La Tengo will release their classic, in a double LP and double CD formats. Renamed Extra Painful, the reissue will include demos, unreleased recordings, live acoustic sessions, the original band-aid sticker, photos, and other related material. The single “Shaker” will also be reissued as a 7-inch. For you to get an idea, peruse the tracklist below.


Pre-order Extra Painful here, and get a chance to win a ticket for Yo La Tengo’s 30th Anniversary concert at Town Hall in New York. Read more about the release on the Matador Records blog. Extra Painful will be released on December 2 via Matador records.


1. Big Day Coming
2. From A Motel 6
3. Double Dare
4. Superstar-Watcher
5. Nowhere Near
6. Sudden Organ
7. A Worrying Thing
8. I Was A Fool Beside You For Too Long
9. The Whole Of The Law
10. Big Day Coming
11. I Heard You Looking


Extra Painful:
1. Nowhere Near (demo)
2. From A Motel 6 (live acoustic)
3. Tunnel Vision (unreleased instrumental demo)
4. Sudden Organ (demo)
5. Smart Window (unreleased Painful session)
6. Big Day Coming (live acoustic)
7. Slow Learner (unreleased demo)
8. Double Dare (demo)
9. A Worrying Thing (demo)
10. I Heard You Looking (live)


“Shaker” 7″:
A: Shaker
B: For Shame Of Doing Wrong



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You May Also Like