Kacey Musgraves – Biscuits | New Music


American country music artist Kacey Musgraves has released a lyric video for the first single “Biscuits” from her upcoming new album. Following the success of her major label debut album Same Trailer, Different Park in 2013, Kacey Musgraves plans to release her new album Pageant Material this month on the 23rd of June, which is available for pre-order here.


What makes Kacey Musgraves a unique artist is the way in which she manages to intertwine her story telling country music roots with an appetizing pop sound, without straying too far from her roots, thus creating her own territory. Most significantly, however, is her ability to create brutal honesty in her seemingly fun lyrics, that confront and challenge us with some of the faults of human nature that we are forced to recognize. She encourages individuality and ambition, whilst emphasizing the importance of respecting others and their differences.


What may seem like a simple little upbeat country sound should not be underestimated; her songs are multidimensional with a unique substance that reflects Kacey’s insightful ability to raise in us some very poignant questions about the ways in which we navigate our ways through our lives and how we treat each other. In “Biscuits” for example, she reminds us not to be judgmental of others and to mind our own business essentially, or as Kacey sings, “mind your own biscuits, and life will be gravy“.


“Biscuits” begins with Kacey’s usual gentle country guitar sounds and the subtle twang in her soft, upbeat voice, gradually building a little with various layering, and is the kind of song that you’ll find yourself singing for the rest of the day without realizing how well you knew the words after just the one listen, whether you wish to admit it or not. Kacey Musgraves isn’t just the pastel coloured pearl of the singer-songwriter she might seem; she knows how to be graceful, she is incredibly wise, and she certainly knows how to pack a good punch using her pretty words. Listen here:



Kacey Musgraves Pageant Material album tracklist:


1. “High Time”

2. “Dime Store Cowgirl”

3. “Late to the Party”

4. “Pageant Material”

5. “This Town”

6. “Biscuits”

7. “Somebody to Love”

8. “Miserable”

9. “Die Fun”

10. “Family Is Family”

11. “Good Ol’ Boys Club”

12. “Cup of Tea”

13. “Fine”



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You May Also Like