Unsigned Music Awards Announce Official Nominations Shortlist | Music News


Off the back of a special nominations launch party held in London’s Soho last night, the official nominees for The UMAs 2018 have been announced today. Representing the very best in independent and unsigned UK talent across all genres, this years list features talent the likes of Jorja Smith, IDLES, Femme, Dave and Tom Misch.


An 100-strong voting panel from across the UK’s music industry have cast their votes, and from an initial list of 10,000 applicants, we now have our final list, 16 categories with five acts in each. We have awards for ‘Best Female’, ‘Best Record’, and ‘Best Songwriter’ up for grabs with category sponsors including Shazam, Ticketmaster, Fastrax, Strange Place and BIMM.


Following on from 2016’s successful event, UMA Music have teamed up with Live Nation and The Great Escape Festival to host the 2018 event. The UMAs will take over the 4,000 capacity Brighton Centre to celebrate the UK’s most innovative and unique unsigned artists on May 16, right in time to kick off the 13th edition of The Great Escape.


With Mullally, Newton Faulkner, Anavae, Tayla and Foreign Beggers set to perform, this is a night you most certainly can’t afford to miss. Tickets are available now from UMA Music’s website. Scroll down for the list of nominees and make sure you’re there.


Best Urban Act
Raheem Bakare
Kojey Radical
Josh Barry


Best Rock Act
The People The Poet
The Harlers
Saint Agnes
The Bay Rays
These Wicked Rivers


Best Country / Folk Act
Adam Beattie
Katy Hurt
Laura Oaks
Danni Nicholls
Ferris & Sylvester


Best Jazz / Blues Act
Ezra Collective
Oscar Jerome
Ruby Rushton
Poppy Ajudha


Best Songwriter
Harry Pane
Jorja Smith
Albert Gold
Violet Skies


Best Music Video
Dave – “Question Time”
Poppy Ajudha ft Kojey Radical – “Spilling Into You”
Femme – “Fire With Fire”
Foreign Beggars – “Bosh”
Eyre Llew – “Atelo”


Best Female Solo Act
Jorja Smith
Violet Skies
Joy Crookes
Maisie Peters
Suzi Wu


Best Male Solo Act
Kojey Radical
Rex Orange County
Bruno Major
Benny Mails


Best Record
Bruno Major – Song For Every Moon
Tom Misch – 5 Day Mischon
IDLES – Brutalism
Toddla T – Foreign Light
Jorja Smith – Project 11
Elder Island – Seeds In Sand


UMA Choice Award
Too Many T’s
The Kings Parade
Rina Sawayama
Bang Bang Romeo



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You May Also Like